New Beginnings

I love the beginning of summer, the first few quiet, lazy days when the hours stretch long and elegant with late light.  This is the first summer when I’ve had the time to devote myself to the garden, to baking and writing enjoying the sun.

A few weeks ago, I read Barbara Kingsolver’s Animal Vegetable, Miracle, and it made me really think about the ways in which we get our food out here (primarily by truck, all from far-south).  I’d already been planning a garden, but it’s nearly doubled in size, and the chickens that had earlier been an airy conversation became a flesh and feathers reality after a weekend of coop building and research. I have plans to learn how to can and have been researching food dehydrators for favorites like sun-dried tomatoes, in hopes that we can – at least in some small way – provide some of our own sustenance.

This weekend we planted the last of the vegetables that had been ferried in and out of the house for weeks of hardening off (tomatoes, eggplant, peppers).  Everything else went in at some point prior… first onions and lettuces and peas, then garlic, beans, and corn.  Most recently: pumpkins, butternut squash, zucchini, summer squash, and cucumbers.

And today, amidst hours of rain that will hopefully help our plants establish strong root systems, I’ve started baking bread again.

One thought on “New Beginnings

  1. This summer is my first garden attempt in Maine…I’m really excited and have been embracing gardening like never before. I look forward to checking back on your adventures! Great blog!

Leave a Reply

