Perfect Holiday Goodies

Over the last few years, I’ve compiled a few go-to holiday recipes for family and work gatherings.  While I was always very, very skeptical of homemade holiday candy (can you say flaming burnt sugar and pans cooling off in snowbanks?), the guys over at Culinary in the Country had me hooked with their simple Almond Roca and Gingerbread Popcorn (or ginger-crack as my boss calls it).

I’ve included some of my own pictures here, but I’m going  to redirect you to Culinary in the Country since I’ve made only very small changes to their core recipes.

Gingerbread Popcorn

With this recipe, the only change I make is adding double the cinnamon and an extra teaspoon of ginger (for super-spicy popcorn).  I also bake mine on cookie sheets, rather than 9 x 13 pans.

Almond Roca

This recipe is perfect, as-is!

Peppermint Cookies

I will note that when I made the peppermint cookies for the first time last night, I was particularly concerned about the melting of the white chocolate, as it was something I have always struggled with.  I used Baker’s Premium White Chocolate and – shockingly, even to me – was able to melt it in a microwave safe bowl.  I will note that the quantity of chocolate is correct (I had to buy four boxes of it in order to do all the cookies), but the cookies came out beautifully!  I think they’re really going to be a hit at my future in-laws’ Christmas eve gathering!

I also used pure mint extract, rather than peppermint and preferred the milder mint taste.

Happy baking!

Leave a Reply

