Homemade Granola

Along with my quest (now complete!) for the perfect wedding dress, I’ve also been much more conscious of what and how I eat.  About a year ago, we started a conscious movement away from processed foods, and after several months, one of the lingering processed foods that remained in my diet was breakfast cereal.  After some experimenting with my mother’s recipe, I finally settled on a homemade granola recipe that I can eat every morning (and alter when I get tired of it and need a change).

Fortunately, almost nine months of the year, I can get local, organic Greek Yogurt from our farmer’s market, and I always have homemade preserves kicking around in the basement.  And given that I eat breakfast at 5 a.m., and it has to last until lunch at 12:30, it’s important that what I choose is both satisfying and healthy.

So what am I doing these days?  1/2 c. Greek Yogurt, 1/2 c. Homemade Granola, 1 T Homemade Strawberry Preserves.

Strawberry Preserves

The recipe is simple and keeps for about two weeks in a sealed container.  It is a calorie-dense food, so I try to limit my intake to under 3/4 c. a day, though once you taste it, you’ll understand my struggle.

Homemade Granola

1 c. unsweetened, shredded coconut
4 c. old fashioned oats
1 – 2 c. nuts (I usually mix almonds and walnuts, but pecans are delicious, too)
1/2. c. ground flax seed
1/2 c. wheat bran (optional)
1 t. salt

1/4 c. oil (I typically use extra virgin olive oil or coconut oil)
2/3 c. maple syrup
1 T vanilla

Ingredients

  1. Preheat oven to 225 degrees.
  2. Combine dry ingredients in a large bowl.

    Combine ingredients.

  3. Combine wet ingredients in a 2 c. liquid measuring cup.  If using coconut oil, melt the ingredients together in a saucepan.
  4. Mix liquid and dry ingredients until fully combined.
  5. Spread on 2 cookie sheets.
  6. Bake for one hour, stirring every fifteen minutes and rotating the cookie sheets between oven racks.
  7. After one hour, increase the oven temperature to 325 and bake until golden (checking every 5 minutes).  Note: this will happen very quickly!  Be cautious not to burn your granola.
  8. Cool completely and place in an airtight container.

    Completed Granola! Enjoy!

    The best part about this granola is how versatile the recipe is.  Feel free to omit or add anything you like!

Leave a Reply

