Prepaing for Incubation: An Exercise in Anxiety

I’m a worrier.  If there’s something in life to wake up at three a.m. and stare and the ceiling in abject fear of, I’m you’re girl!  That said, on Wednesday night, I had a really vivid dream about exploding eggs.  And that folks, that might finally teach me to stop worrying about chickens before bed.

Today, we begin our first journey toward incubation, and as I’ve spent the last several months surrounded (literally) by pregnant women, I have no idea how they all seem so calm and collected when I can’t seem to relax about exploding chicken eggs in the early hours of the morning.

We’re hoping to collect about thirty eggs over the next 7 – 10 days.  After a lot of research, I am fairly confident that storage in our linen closet before setting will probably be ideal since we really are looking at a 10 day set and the temperature in there is a perfect, stable 58 (I’ve been checking regularly).

First Two Eggs

Yesterday, I collected our first two eggs.  I had been really nervous about what to store them in until I remembered a few clear egg boxes that one of my customers gave to me a few months ago.  These provided a great opportunity to record collection date (right above the egg in permanent marker (on the plastic!) and also allowed for some nice written instruction in regard to turning the eggs twice a day (rotating the box side from left to right to prevent the embryo from sticking to the insides of the egg).

Box Rotation

I made a nice little checklist for the refrigerator, so I can keep track of what we collect when and how often the eggs are turned (for those busy end of school-year mornings when it’s all I can do to get out of the house).

Last night, I also put up our first veggies of the season: fiddleheads.  Fiddleheads are a local delicacy that you forage for in the spring.  Last year, I preserved some for the first time by blanching them in boiling water for one minute, suspending them in cold water until they were completely cooled, rolling them dry in towels and then freezing them in freezer bags.  We enjoyed them for almost eleven months.

Packaged & Ready for the Freezer!

Hopefully, I’ll be able to provide you with a tutorial later this weekend!  Happy Friday!

4 thoughts on “Prepaing for Incubation: An Exercise in Anxiety

  1. Jess, I am so happy I found you!!! My 1st eggs are being delivered USPS today and I am a wreck! I didn’t even thnk about the right place to set them BEFORE they go in the incubator….geez…something new to panic about!! I have to keep reading to see what else I have to panic….I mean enoy…..on the road to becoming a Mother Hen!! LOL

    • Everything I’ve read about shipped eggs suggests letting them sit for about 24 hours after you get them in a relatively cool (60ish degrees) space, so they can reconstitute a bit before placing them in the incubator.

      If you haven’t checked out Backyard Chickens yet, they’re a great resource, but limit the time you spend there while incubating… nearly gave myself a heart attack earlier this week.

      Hang in there!

Leave a Reply

