Setting Eggs & Preparing for the Wedding

To say that this past weekend was busy is a tremendous understatement.  I woke up early on Saturday morning (4:30), hoping to get a friend’s quilt pieced and was semi-shocked when Jason appeared about a half hour later, ready to start the day.  Usually, he uses early weekend mornings to catch up on sleep, while I use them to catch up on … everything else.  Having had the flu most of last week (sorry for the disappearance!), I was woefully behind.  But the weather forecast was pretty phenomenal, and we had business in town later in the morning, so we started early.

While he painted trim, I weeded both the strawberry and blueberry beds.  I mulched the strawberries, and we’re waiting on a trip into the woods to pick up pine needles to naturally mulch the blueberries.  Meanwhile, the smaller flock (those not used for round one of breeding), followed at my heels, eating grubs and hay seeds left over from the winter mulching.

Chores done, we headed into town for two things I’ve been eagerly waiting for and (unnecessarily) dreading.  After really struggling to find the perfect engagement band to house my parents’ diamond (plus two that Jason added), I was terribly worried that we’d really struggle to find an affordable and beautiful wedding band to go along with it, particularly since my ring was a custom design made by a local jeweler.  I couldn’t have been more wrong.  On our trip to rent wedding tuxes, we dropped into Kay Jewelers (at the suggestion of a girl from work) and after about ten minutes, we found my ring!

Going in, I thought that what I really wanted was a super-simple white gold band; however, after trying two on, they just didn’t look right with my engagement ring (a three-stone diamond set in white gold).  But after asking the saleswoman if there was something a little more elaborate, she brought us over to a new case, and I spotted my ring almost immediately.  I let her give me a few others to try on first (all more expensive and less ideal), but when I asked for the ring and  slipped it on, I just knew.  Of course, I wasn’t the only one to get my ring this weekend.  We used buying my ring as an opportunity to have Jason sized for his and then returned to a great, eco-friendly online site that specializes in wooden wedding bands.  Since Jason works with his hands in some fairly dangerous situations, he won’t be wearing his ring every day, but we wanted something special for when we got out to dinner or travel.  Simply Wood Rings was the simple answer.  After a lot of browsing, he decided on their Teakwood “Incorruptible” Model, and we were able to place an order specifying his size and our time frame.Our final stop on Saturday was the local tux rental shop, where we placed an order for the guys’ tuxedos.  The guys will be wearing Calvin Klein Legend Grey tuxes.  We’re keeping the grey vest; however, we are supplementing with a tie with a subtle stripe that will match the bridesmaids’ dresses.

Tuxes

Bridesmaids’ Dresses

Wedding tasks complete, we returned home and were stunned to find four eggs in our breeder pen.  That hatch looked like it might move a day forward, a fact confirmed by yesterday’s five eggs!

Last night, we placed 28 eggs in our Hovabator 1588, setting each one carefully into the egg turner.  As I write this, they are warming away over in the corner of our living room.  Given the difficulty I had finding a good clear post about incubation, I’m hoping to have something up later this week.

Also later this week, I’m planning on writing about our experience planning our honeymoon (a week on Prince Edward Island).  Posting in the earlier part of the week may be a bit light, as it’s finals week at school and I have a pile of papers to grade; however, once we’re past that hurdle it will be all things garden all the time until the wedding.

Have a great day!

4 thoughts on “Setting Eggs & Preparing for the Wedding

  1. Hi Jes! I found you via the Barn Hop. I’m also planning a wedding and starting a mini-homestead, so it seems we have a lot in common. I’ll definitely be visiting again! 🙂

  2. Hi Jes! I found your blog via the Barn Hop. I’m also planning a wedding and starting a mini-homestead, so it seems we have a lot in common. I’ll definitely be back! 🙂

Leave a Reply

