Simplifying Summer

I love this time of year.  The air is crisp in the morning, the garden is tilled and awaiting our seedlings, and the chicks will be on their way from Murray McMurray early next week.  But this year has been a bit more challenging than previous years.  Jason’s dad passed away unexpectedly from pancreatic cancer within weeks of a diagnosis, leaving our young family in a tailspin, complicated by our hectic work schedules, a back injury (mine), and seven month old A, who is a constant delight.

So now that my grading is finally wrapped up, and I only have two weeks left of work obligations, I feel like I can finally focus my attention on… everything else.  It’s hard to say where this blog is going.  As a new (if not excessively young) Mom, I am overwhelmed by just how many “firsts” A can rake up in a week, by how challenging some things have been, and by the overwhelming sense that even my best efforts may not, sometimes, be enough.  I’m looking forward to talking about how well cloth diapering has gone (nothing but cloth since her fourth day of life!), and how her first round of disposable wearing (during an upcoming trip home to see my family) will go.  We ordered a bundle from Honest Co., and I’m eager to see if they really hold up to the recommendations we received.  I want to talk about feeding solids – and what a strange, emotional, complicated task feeding a baby really is.  I look forward to covering this year’s adventures in chickens, though, admittedly, the chickens get a lot less attention these days.  And, the garden – how our plan to pare back and focus only on the essentials pans out.

I can’t promise daily writing, but I am hoping for a few posts weekly, perhaps following formats that I’ve liked on other blogs.  So please come back – hopefully new things will be springing up soon!

Leave a Reply

